918 Bathurst St., Toronto, ON, M5R 3G5
Phone: (416) 204-1080

Artistic and programming inquiries

Sanjeet Takhar, Artistic Director

sanjeet@musicgallery.org
Rentals and other administrative inquiries

David Dacks, Executive Director

david@musicgallery.org

Current Season

2020-2021 Season

Season Overview

Entirely online, we welcomed new Artistic Director Sanjeet Takhar to the team as we navigated lockdowns with new forms of programming.

Our venue was only accessible (and only for artists and crew) for 4 months of our season, yet we innovated with programming such as the Exquisite Corpse-themed “Exquisite Departures”, an interactive web-only presentation of Jason Doell’s “Turnonandbenotalone”, a circumpolar concert presentation organized with Native Women In The Arts, and Takhar’s first programming, the inaugural “What Is” Festival.

2020-2021 Season Events

This event has passed.

Weekend Long Exhibit

EMERGENTS IV: ROOM TONE EXHIBIT

Workshop | Emergents series

From Saturday, June 26, 2021 until Sunday, June 27, 2021
This event has passed.

What Is: Soul

Concert, Panel, Workshop | What Is: Soul series

Friday, June 11, 2021
7 PM
This event has passed.

EMERGENTS IV: ROOM TONE

Workshop | Emergents series

Thursday, May 13, 2021
7 PM
This event has passed.

Setting the Scene: The Curation of Safe Spaces & Accountability

Panel

Thursday, April 22, 2021
7 PM
This event has passed.

Emergents III: Women From Space: Opening Night (new date!)

Concert | Emergents series

Friday, April 9, 2021
7:30 PM
This event has passed.

Les Angles Mortes + Amahl Arulanandam

Concert | Co-presentations 2020 - 2021 series

Thursday, April 1, 2021
8 PM
This event has passed.

Silla and Rise + Nannaam

Concert

Saturday, March 20, 2021
7 PM
This event has passed.

Ami Dang & Gudiya

Concert

Saturday, February 20, 2021
7 PM
This event has passed.

Jason Doell: TURNONANDBENOTALONE

Concert, Multimedia

Wednesday, February 3, 2021
8 PM
This event has passed.

Emergents II: Yaz Lancaster + Kris Kuldkepp + Émilie Girard-Charest

Concert | Emergents series

Friday, January 15, 2021
7 PM
This event has passed.

History Series: Stuart Broomer, interviewed by Jennie Punter

Interview | History series

Thursday, December 10, 2020
7 PM
This event has passed.

EMERGENTS I: REROOTS featuring Tamayugé + masc4masc

Concert | Emergents series

Friday, December 4, 2020
7 PM
This event has passed.

Exquisite Departures

Multimedia | Departures series

Friday, November 20, 2020
7 PM
This event has passed.

***POSTPONED*** X AVANT XV: Leanne Simpson Trio + Mingjia Chen, Chris Pruden, Julian Anderson-Bowes | October 18

Concert | X Avant XV: Transmissions series

Sunday, October 18, 2020
7 PM
This event has passed.

X AVANT XV: OK Miss + Classic Roots | October 16

Concert | X Avant XV: Transmissions series

Friday, October 16, 2020
7 PM
This event has passed.

X AVANT XV: Kaie Kellough/Jason Sharp | October 15

Concert | X Avant XV: Transmissions series

Thursday, October 15, 2020
7 PM
This event has passed.

X AVANT XV: c_RL + Olivia Shortt | October 11

Concert | X Avant XV: Transmissions series

Sunday, October 11, 2020
1 PM
This event has passed.

X AVANT XV: Rich Brown | October 9

Concert | X Avant XV: Transmissions series

Friday, October 9, 2020
7 PM
This event has passed.

X AVANT XV: Thin Edge Music Collective + Tara Kannangara | October 4

Concert | X Avant XV: Transmissions series

Sunday, October 4, 2020
7 PM
This event has passed.

X AVANT XV: Norman Otis Richmond Interviewed by Chaka V. Grier | October 2

Interview | X Avant XV: Transmissions series

Friday, October 2, 2020
7 PM
This event has passed.

X AVANT XV: Rough Ideas: A Celebration of Ron Gaskin | October 1

Panel | X Avant XV: Transmissions series

Thursday, October 1, 2020
7 PM